Football’s Kelly Earns Spot On O’Brien Award Watch List

Pac-12 Content Image

(function(d, s, id) {

var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];

if (d.getElementById(id)) return;

js = d.createElement(s); = id;

js.src = "//";

fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);

}(document, 'script', 'facebook-jssdk'));

FORT WORTH, Texas – Arizona State University student-athlete Taylor Kelly has been named to the 2013 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List, the Davey O’Brien Foundation announced Wednesday.
The O’Brien Award is presented annually to the nation's best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award.
One of five Pac-12 representatives on the watch list, Kelly has also been selected to the watch list for the Maxwell Award, given to the nation’s most outstanding player.
A total of nine different Sun Devils, including five on offense and four on defense, have earned nods on 12 different preseason award watch lists this summer.
Kelly set school records in both completion percentage (67.1 percent) and passing efficiency (159.9) in 2012, and his 29 touchdown passes were the second most in school history. He threw for a career-high five touchdowns in a win over Colorado last season and also set the school record with 19 consecutive completions against Washington State. Kelly also ran for more than 500 yards and accounted for more than 3,500 total yards of offense in 2012.
He earned honorable mention All-Pac-12 recognition as well as honorable mention Pac-12 All-Academic honors this past season, and was also a Scholar Baller®, which honors those who achieved a 3.0 GPA or made outstanding academic improvement.
Kelly is heavily involved in the Scholar Baller Leadership and Outreach Program, where he helps develop curriculum, deliver, teach and mentor students at South Mountain High School, Academy of Excellence and Cesar Chavez High School. He teaches teenagers about developing championship character, creating a strong sense of self and becoming a great leader, among other things.
2013 Sun Devil Award Watch Lists
O’Brien Award (nation’s most outstanding quarterback) – Taylor Kelly
Butkus Award (nation’s most outstanding linebacker) – Carl Bradford, Chris Young
Lombardi (nation’s most outstanding down lineman) - Will Sutton
Thorpe Award (nation’s most outstanding defensive back) – Alden Darby
Outland Trophy (nation’s most outstanding interior lineman) – Sutton
Nagurski Trophy (national defensive player of the year) – Bradford, Sutton
Mackey Award (nation’s most outstanding tight end) – Chris Coyle
Maxwell Award (nation’s most outstanding player) – Marion Grice, Kelly, Sutton
Bednarik Award (nation’s most outstanding defensive player) – Bradford, Sutton
Hornung Award (nation's most versatile player) - DJ Foster
Rimington Award (nation's top center) - Kody Koebensky 
Lott IMPACT Trophy (positive influence both on and off the field) – Darby
The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award
Quarterbacks from all 125 NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools are eligible for the award until the field is narrowed to 16 semifinalists on Monday, Nov. 4. The Foundation and the Selection Committee will announce three finalists on Monday, Nov. 25. The 2013 Davey O'Brien Winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 12.
The 37th Annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner will be held Feb. 17, 2014 in Fort Worth, Texas.
ASU opens the 2013 season on Sept. 5 at Sun Devil Stadium against Sacramento State and the remaining schedule features two conference champions, the national championship runner-up and traditional Pac-12 rivals.
To purchase season tickets or enroll in a payment plan, call the Sun Devil Athletics sales department at 480-965-5812, go online at, or come in person to the Sun Devil ticket office, which is located on the south end of Sun Devil Stadium and is open from 9 a.m.-5 p.m. Monday through Friday. Fans can also mail a check to: Sun Devil Athletics P.O. Box 872405, Tempe, AZ 85287.

!function(d,s,id){var js,fjs=d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0],p=/^http:/.test(d.location)?'http':'https';if(!d.getElementById(id)){js=d.createElement(s);;js.src=p+'://';fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js,fjs);}}(document, 'script', 'twitter-wjs');