ASU Alumni Association, Sun Devil Club Welcome Sun Devil Football Greats Into ASU’s Ring Of Honor At Oct. 18 Luncheon

Pac-12 Content Image

TEMPE, Ariz.- Arizona State University has sent hundreds of its football players to the NFL and other professional leagues, and has distinguished itself in conference and bowl play. To recognize those players and coaches who have contributed to the proud legacy of the football program, the ASU Alumni Association and the Sun Devil Club will honor current and incoming inductees to ASU’s Ring of Honor at its Oct. 18 Legends Luncheon.
The Ring of Honor, created in 2010, recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the legacy of the Sun Devil Football program. A few of the past inductees include Frank Kush, Ron Pritchard, Mike Haynes and Pat Tillman. The luncheon will start at 11:30 a.m. at the Marriott Tempe at the Buttes, 2000 Westcourt Way in Tempe.
In addition to recognizing the 17 current members of the Ring of Honor Society, the event will introduce the three new members of the society, bringing the total number of members to 20:

  • Leon Burton, who played running back for the Sun Devils from 1955 to 1958 and who is considered one of the most explosive runners in ASU history.
  • Al Harris, a mainstay in ASU’s defensive line from 1975 to 1978, who went on to play 11 seasons with the Chicago Bears and the Philadelphia Eagles;
  • Mike Richardson, a four-year (1979-1982) starter at defensive back who played seven seasons with the Chicago Bears;

“The Football Ring of Honor program is unique in that it accomplishes two very important objectives,”  says Kevin Miniefield, Coordinator, Former Student-Athlete Outreach with the Sun Devil Club . “It allows us to recognize and honor the elite players throughout the history of our football program.
“In addition, the academic scholarship component of the program provides an opportunity for our former football lettermen to give back financially to the Sun Devil Club and direct their donations specifically towards football academic scholarships on an annual basis.”
Alissa Pierson, executive director of alumni programs and constituent group relations for the Alumni Association, explained that the popular annual luncheon, which highlights a different aspect of ASU’s football program each year, will celebrate the sport the day before ASU plays its Homecoming game against the University of Washington’s Huskies.  The Ring of Honor inductees will receive maroon jackets at the luncheon, and be presented with official rings designating their induction during halftime of the Homecoming Game this year.
“Legends Luncheon pays tribute to the men who built Sun Devil football,” she said. “The Ring of Honor Society has become a powerful way to honor to the players and coaches who have made ASU a legendary football school, and we’re excited to participate in their induction process.”
Tickets to the luncheon are $55 for ASU Alumni Association or Sun Devil Club members and $70 for non-members. Tables seating 10 are $550 for members and $700 for nonmembers.
For more information on the Legends Luncheon, visit
Ring of Honor Members
Junior Ah You, 2012
Bob Breunig, 2012
Leon Burton, 2013
Curley Culp, 2011
Woody Green, 2011
Mike Haynes, 2010 - charter
J.D. Hill, 2012
John Jefferson, 2010 – charter
Al Harris, 2013
John Henry Johnson, 2011
Jim Jeffcoat, 2012
Coach Frank Kush, 2010 – charter
Randall McDaniel, 2010 – charter
Bobby Mulgado, 2010 – charter
Ron Pritchard, 2010 – charter (co-founder)
Mike Richardson, 2013
Charley Taylor, 2011
Pat Tillman, 2010 – charter
Danny White, 2010 – charter
Wilford “Whizzer” White, 2010 – charter