Seven Pac-12 rowing teams selected for national championships

Pac-12 Content Image
Michael Paiva


SAN FRANCISCO – Three Pac-12 women’s rowing teams were selected for the 2019 NCAA Championships and four men’s rowing programs were selected to compete for the Intercollegiate Rowing Association (IRA) National Championships.

The 2019 NCAA Division I Women’s Rowing Championship will be held May 31-June 2 at the Indianapolis Rowing Center at Eagle Creek Park in Indianapolis with Indiana University, Bloomington, and the Indiana SportsCorp serving as hosts. The team championship is composed of 22 teams. Eleven conferences were awarded automatic qualification and the remaining 11 slots were filled with at-large selections to complete the championship field. Teams qualifying for the championship are required to field two boats of eight rowers and one boat of four rowers.

WASHINGTON earned the conference’s automatic bid after winning its third-straight Pac-12 title. Defending NCAA Champion CALIFORNIA and Stanford earned at-large selections. The Pac-12 earned all three top seeds in the three events, with Cal taking the top seed for the varsity eight and Washington being the top seed for the second varsity eight and varsity four.

Pac-12 women’s rowing is one of the most successful Conferences in the country and has been since the beginning of collegiate rowing. Conference teams have won the last three NCAA Championships, giving the Conference a total of nine NCAA titles, the most of any conference. Since the NCAA began hosting women’s rowing championship in 1997, Pac-12 schools have finished first or second in 18 of 22 years, including three years with the top-two finishers.

The IRA Championships will be held at Lake Natoma in Gold River, California on May 31 -June 2. Twenty-four men's heavyweight crews, eight men's lightweight crews and seven women's lightweight crews were invited to participate in the National Championship events. In total, ten events will be contested and 32 institutions will be represented.

2019 Pac-12 Champion and defending James Ten Eyck award winner Washington earned the automatic bid and will compete alongside Pac-12 men’s programs Cal, OREGON STATE and Stanford. Additionally, Stanford’s women’s lightweight varsity eight, lightweight varsity four and lightweight 2x will compete at the IRAs, with the Cardinal earning the top seed in the lightweight varsity eight.

Pac-12 men’s rowing has won of the most decorated histories of any conference in the nation. The Pac-12 has won eight of the last 10 IRA Championships, and has 35 IRA national titles, the second most of any conference. Washington and California are also the only two programs in IRA history to win the title four-consecutive years. Pac-12 men’s rowing teams hold seven out of 10 IRA course records and have won the last 13-straight James Ten Eyck awards.

Pac-12 NCAA Champions
Washington – 4 (1997-98, 2001, 2017)
California – 4 (2005-06, 2016, 2018)
Stanford – 1 (2009)

Pac-12 IRA Champions
Washington – 18 (1923-24, 1926, 1936-37, 1940-41, 1948, 1950, 1970, 1997, 2007, 2009, 20011-15)
California – 17 (1928, 1932, 1934-35, 1939, 1949, 1960-61, 1964, 1976, 1999-02, 2006, 2010, 2016)