Arizona State's Hall named Wrestling Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Pac-12 Content Image

SAN FRANCISCO – ARIZONA STATE’s Tanner Hall was named the Pac-12 Wrestling Scholar-Athlete of the Year for the 2019-20 season, the Conference office announced today. The award, which is presented in each of the 24 sports the Pac-12 sponsors, was established to honor collegiate student-athletes that are standouts both academically and in their sports discipline.

Hall, who hails from Meridian, Idaho, becomes the third Sun Devil to be named Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year for wrestling. The graduate student posted a 3.60 grade point average while earning his degree in electrical engineering. A two-time National Wrestling Coaches Association Academic All-America selection, Hall finished third (HWT) at the 2017 NCAA Championship to garner All-America honors. Hall has posted a 21-3 record this season and is currently ranked No. 5 by InterMat. His career record entering the postseason stands at 104-29.

Hall and his fellow Sun Devil teammates will compete at the Pac-12 Wrestling Championships on Saturday at Stanford’s Maples Pavilion. The early rounds of competition will be carried via live-stream on Pac-12 Now and starting at 9:30 a.m. PT. Pac-12 Networks will cover the championship round live, starting at 6 p.m. PT. Tickets to attend the event are available at or by calling 800-STANFORD (option 4).

In order to be eligible for the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility) on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher, participate in at least 50% of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum of one year in residence at the institution. Each Pac-12 institution may nominate one individual per sport, and the winners are selected by a committee of Pac-12 staff members at the conclusion of each sport’s regular season. The athletic accomplishments of the nominees are a consideration in the voting for the award.

A Scholar-Athlete of the Year will be named in each of the Pac-12’s 24 sponsored sports: baseball, men’s basketball, women’s basketball, beach volleyball, men’s cross country, women’s cross country, football, men’s golf, women’s golf, women’s gymnastics, women’s lacrosse, men’s rowing, women’s rowing, men’s soccer, women’s soccer, softball, men’s swimming & diving, women’s swimming & diving, men’s tennis, women’s tennis, men’s track & field, women’s track & field, women’s volleyball, and wrestling. The award was first established during the 2007-08 academic year

Also Nominated: Wyatt Gerl, CSU Bakersfield (3.29, Business Administration)

Previous Wrestling Scholar-Athletes of the Year

Year                     Scholar-Athlete                          School
2019-20              Tanner Hall                               Arizona State
2018-19              Paul Fox                                   Stanford
2017-18              Nathan Butler                           Stanford
2016-17              Peter Galli                                 Stanford
2015-16              Ian Nickell                                CSU Bakersfield
2014-15              Chace Eskam                             Arizona State
2013-14              Dalton Kelly                              CSU Bakersfield
2012-13              Jake Meredith                            Arizona State
2011-12              Nick Amuchastegui                    Stanford
2010-11              Adam Hall                                 Boise State
2009-10              Jake Johnson                             Stanford
2008-09              Thomas Kimbrell                       CSU Bakersfield
2007-08              Tanner Gardner                         Stanford