UCLA's Madison Kocian named Pac-12 Women's Gymnastics Scholar-Athlete of the Year

SAN FRANCISCO – UCLA’s Madison Kocian was named the Pac-12 Gymnastics Scholar-Athlete of the Year, the Conference office announced today. The award, which is presented in each of the 24 sports the Conference sponsors, was established to honor collegiate student-athletes who are standouts both academically and in their sports discipline.

Kocian is majoring in Psychology and currently holds a 3.842 cumulative grade-point average. She is a three-time WCGA Scholastic All-American. Kocian was named to the Pac-12 All-Academic first team (2019) and second-team (2018). She is a two-time member of UCLA’s All-Academic team. Additionally, she has been named to the UCLA Athletic Director’s Honor Roll every quarter. Kocian has had a remarkable gymnastics career, becoming the first Olympic gold medalist ever to compete in NCAA Women's Gymnastics. She is just one of two women who have won NCAA, World and Olympic championships. In 2016, Kocian claimed an Olympic gold medal for her team performance, and a silver medal on the uneven bars. She holds three World Championship gold medals (two team, one uneven bars). Kocian is a UCLA record-holder on uneven bars having earned a pair of 10s. She holds career-highs of 39.625 in the all-around, 10.0 on uneven bars, 9.95 on balance beam and floor exercise, 9.875 on vault. Kocian has been an exceptional performer for the Bruins both in competition and in the classroom.

In order to be eligible for the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility) on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher, participate in at least 50% of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum of one year in residence at the institution. Each Pac-12 institution may nominate one individual per sport, and the winners are selected by a committee of Pac-12 staff members at the conclusion of each sport’s regular season. The athletic accomplishments of the nominees are a consideration in the voting for the award.

A Scholar-Athlete of the Year will be named in each of the Pac-12’s 24 sponsored sports: baseball, men’s basketball, women’s basketball, beach volleyball, men’s cross country, women’s cross country, football, men’s golf, women’s golf, women’s gymnastics, women’s lacrosse, men’s rowing, women’s rowing, men’s soccer, women’s soccer, softball, men’s swimming & diving, women’s swimming & diving, men’s tennis, women’s tennis, men’s track & field, women’s track & field, women’s volleyball, and wrestling. The award was first established during the 2007-08 academic year.

Also Nominated: Maddi Leydin, Arizona; Jessica Ginn, Arizona State; Rachael Mastrangelo, California; Halli Briscoe, Oregon State; Kaylee Cole, Stanford; Missy Reinstadtler, Utah; Michaela Nelson, Washington

Previous Gymnastics Scholar-Athletes of the Year
Year   Scholar-Athlete                     School
2019   Anne Kuhm                            ASU
2018   Christine Peng-Peng Lee       UCLA
2017   Madeline Gardiner                 OSU
2016   Breanna Hughes                    UTAH
2015   Georgia Dabritz                      UTAH
2014   Alicia Asturias                         CAL
2013   Stephanie McGregor              OSU
2012   Stephanie McAllister               UTAH
2011   Mary Atkinson                         ASU
2010   Carly Janiga                            Stanford
2009   Ariana Berlin                           UCLA
2008   Karin Wurm                            Arizona